Ocean Adventure news, guides and ideas from Solomonsdiving

Solomon Islands Liveaboard Cost Guide

Budget line Published figure and condition Planning use Nightly rate €580 to 670 per person per night, depending on cabin grade and charter length Compare operators on the same cabin grade and charter length 10-night charter for two €11,600 to 13,400 for two, before flights Use as the base-price line for a couple Marine Kastom…

solomon islands liveaboard cost
Budget line Published figure and condition Planning use
Nightly rate €580 to 670 per person per night, depending on cabin grade and charter length Compare operators on the same cabin grade and charter length
10-night charter for two €11,600 to 13,400 for two, before flights Use as the base-price line for a couple
Marine Kastom fees and local taxes, 7-night Florida and Russell Islands itinerary $175 per person (currency not stated) Add on top of the charter price
Marine Kastom fees and local taxes, 10-night itineraries $250 per person (currency not stated) Add on top of the charter price; the fee rises with itinerary length
Europe to Brisbane flight Typically 20 to 24 hours with one or two stops Price flights separately and allow for the travel time
Whole trip for two, 12 days €16,000 to 20,000 including flights, depending on cabin and season Use as a ceiling check on the full budget

Figures come from a Faneca Expeditions pricing guide and a Sea to Sky Experiences itinerary page.

Solomon Islands liveaboard cost starts from a nightly rate of about €580 to 670 per person, but fees, flights and insurance sit outside it. Price the base fare first, then add each extra as its own line.

The hub on solomon islands liveaboard diving covers routes and wrecks in more depth. This guide stays on the money: what the base price buys, what is added, and how to assemble a realistic total.

Phase 1: Set the base price

The base price is the nightly rate multiplied across the charter, and it moves with cabin grade and charter length. Faneca Expeditions puts the range at roughly €580 to 670 per person per night, and a 10-night trip at about €11,600 to 13,400 for two before flights.

Reading the nightly rate

Treat the range as a spread between cabin grades, not a single price. The lower end suits divers who spend most of their time in the water and only need a place to sleep. The upper end suits couples or divers who want more space. Compare operators on the same cabin grade and charter length, because a quote for a different grade is not a like-for-like comparison.

What the cabin gives you

Liveaboard cabins are compact. Sea to Sky Experiences describes its Solomons Master as having eight double occupancy en-suite cabins for up to 16 guests. A small boat with few cabins means fewer divers per departure, which matters when comparing cabin grades.

The rate sheet should state what the nightly figure covers beyond the cabin. Before comparing operators, ask whether nitrox, rental equipment and any crew gratuities sit inside the rate or are billed on board. Those answers can change one operator’s real cost against another’s.

Phase 2: Match itinerary length to fees

Itinerary length changes the base price and the local fee line together. The Solomons comprise 992 islands, less than 50% of which are inhabited, so itineraries differ widely in what they cover and how long they run.

Sea to Sky Experiences lists Marine Kastom fees and local taxes of $175 per person on a 7-night Florida and Russell Islands itinerary and $250 per person on its 10-night itineraries. The listing does not name the currency, so confirm it when you request a quote. For route comparisons, the guide to solomon islands liveaboard itineraries sets out the options side by side.

  1. Pick the charter length first. It sets both the nightly total and the fee line.
  2. Choose the cabin grade second. Faneca Expeditions ties the nightly price to the grade, so this is the lever for adjusting the budget.
  3. Ask for the fee line in writing. A quote that leaves out Marine Kastom fees and local taxes will understate the total.

Phase 3: Pre-departure costs

Three items sit outside the charter price and need to be booked before departure: certification, insurance and flights.

Certification

Certification affects the budget only if you lack the required level. Sea to Sky Experiences says its WWII wreck itinerary makes PADI Advanced Open Water certification, or equivalent, mandatory, with a minimum of 75 logged dives. A diver below that level should budget for further training before booking such a route, or choose a different itinerary.

Dive insurance

Insurance is the guest’s responsibility. The same operator requires guests to obtain suitable dive insurance covering all in-water activities. A standard travel policy may not cover diving, so check that the policy wording includes it before buying.

Flights

Flights are priced separately from the charter. Faneca Expeditions notes that travellers from Europe fly to Brisbane, typically 20 to 24 hours with one or two stops. Check fares for your own dates, because the whole-trip estimate for two depends on the season.

Phase 4: Fees and extras during the trip

Marine park-style fees are the one charge that is certain to arrive. The Marine Kastom fees and local taxes are charged per person, so a couple pays the figure twice. Solo travellers should check whether a single-occupancy supplement applies, since the cabin grade drives the nightly price.

Outrigger canoes drawn up on a sandy shoreline; illustrative stock image of the kind of village coastline that onshore fees relate to.

Beyond that, the items to ask about are the ones that vary by operator: nitrox, rental equipment and gratuities. If you own a regulator, BCD and dive computer, rental is not an issue. If you rent, ask for the cost as a per-trip figure so it can go into the budget as one line.

A euro coin as a reminder that the operator rates quoted here are in euros; it does not represent local currency.
Illustrative image of fish seen through a circular window; the trip’s cost buys access to the underwater setting, not this particular scene.

Phase 5: Build the whole-trip budget

A 12-day trip for two, flights included, lands between €16,000 and €20,000 depending on cabin and season, according to Faneca Expeditions. Use that as a sanity check against your own line-by-line total rather than a target.

Generic stock image of someone working through figures at a laptop; it does not show any operator or price.
  1. Write the base price. Take the nightly rate for your cabin grade across the charter.
  2. Add the Marine Kastom fee. Use the figure for your itinerary length, per person.
  3. Add insurance. Include dive cover for all in-water activities.
  4. Add flights. Include the long-haul leg to Brisbane and any onward connection.
  5. Add extras. Include nitrox, rental gear and gratuities if the operator bills them separately.
  6. Compare with the ceiling. If your total sits well above the whole-trip range, recheck cabin grade and season.

If the total is too high

Move down a cabin grade or shorten the charter, since both drive the base price. If you are still deciding between boats, the guide to the best liveaboard solomon islands weighs the trade-offs beyond price.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Solomon Islands liveaboard cost?

Faneca Expeditions quotes roughly €580 to 670 per person per night, which works out to about €11,600 to 13,400 for two on a 10-night trip before flights.

What does the price usually include?

The base price secures a cabin, typically 8 to 10 square metres. Fees, flights and insurance are separate, and nitrox, rental equipment and gratuities should be confirmed on the operator’s rate sheet.

Are flights, fees and insurance extra?

Yes. Flights are not in the charter price, Marine Kastom fees and local taxes are listed per person, and guests must arrange their own dive insurance.

Does certification level affect the booking?

On some itineraries it does. The WWII wreck itinerary from Sea to Sky Experiences requires PADI Advanced Open Water or equivalent and a minimum of 75 logged dives.